Migration support

List of FAQ


! Please be aware that we accept the respective direct applications from AEB members only. The non-member companies are welcome to apply for the fourth list either via the respective national business chambers/associations or national embassies. !

Who can apply for AEB support?

For capacity reasons, only HQS from AEB members can receive full AEB support (additional clarifications, updates etc.). Non-member companies should apply to their national business chambers/associations or national embassies. 

Who can enter the Russian Federation?

Highly Qualified Specialists (HQS) or foreign citizens participating in the adjustment and maintenance of foreign-made equipment can enter Russia after approval of by their respective sectoral ministry and communication of travel details to the FSB and Russian Aviation Authority (Rosaviatsia).

Can I apply for re-entry on my own?

Yes, companies can address such requests to their respective profile (sectoral) ministries at least 14 days prior to arrival. The applications shall include copies of the following documents for HQS: 

- a passport,
- visa (if any),
- valid employment contract or civil contract with an employer or customer,
- work permit (if any);

for specialists involved in the adjustment and maintenance of foreign-made equipment:

- passport,
- visa (if any),
- purchase contract, employment contract or a civil contract with an employer or customer,
- work permit (if any).

In the absence of a work visa or an employment contract, the company in its request to the relevant ministry indicates a request for assistance in issuing an invitation to the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Russia.

How to identify company’s profile (sectoral) ministry?

The sectoral ministry (in charge of the industry or the area of company’s activity) can be determined based on the main type of its activity according to the OKVED (all-Russian register of economic activities)

What are the requirements when crossing the Russian border?

When crossing borders, compliance with potential self-isolation rules in force in different countries may be required:


Please note that there may be difficulties on the border with Belarus, queues at the checkpoint. In Belarus, persons arriving from countries not included in the List shall not observe self-isolation for 14 calendar days.


Entry is allowed for citizens from the listed countries: https://urm.lt/default/en/important-covid19. Individuals arriving in Lithuania from countries affected by COVID-19 are required to self-isolate for 14 days. 


Entry is allowed for citizens from the listed countries: https://moscow.mfa.ee/ru/obnovlennaja-informacija-o-vozmozhnostah-pojezdok-i-o-trebovanii-izolacii-dla-pribyvajushhih-iz-jevropy-po-sostojaniju-na-6-ijula/. Individuals arriving in Estonia from countries affected by COVID-19 are required to self-isolate for 14 days. 


Individuals arriving in Finland from countries affected by COVID-19 are required to self-isolate for 14 days. 


We do not recommend to cross Russia-Ukraine border

Kaliningrad region

14 days of self-isolation is required in Kaliningrad. Also, when flying from Kaliningrad to Moscow or St. Peters-burg, you need to go through border control again. We also recommend that all HQS carry the above-mentioned set of documents.

Resolution of the Chief State Sanitary Doctor of the Russian Federation of 03/30/2020 N 9.

What if the date of entry was changed?

If the date of entry specified earlier was changed you must reapply for entry permission.

Order of the Government of the Russian Federation of March 16, 2020 N 635-r.

Where can I get information re: regular or evacuation flights?

For detailed information we recommend to directly contact airline offices. The Consulate of the Russian Federation in your country of Residence or the latter’s Embassy in the Russian Federation as well as the Federal Air Transport Agency may also help.

Can an HQS from listed countries enter Russia without additional approval?

No, despite the resumption of international flight connection and the general entry allowance given to listed countries (currently the UK, Switzerland, Turkey, and Tanzania), HQS still must comply with special list request procedure established for them.

Can I use public transport to get home from the airport?

No, only corporate or private transport is allowed.

Where do I need to self-isolate in case my city / airport of arrival is not my final destination?

If your city / airport of arrival is not your final destination, you have to self-isolate for 14 days of in the city / region where you cross the border of the Russian Federation, e.g. if you enter Russia at a capital airport, you need to undergo isolation in Moscow or the Moscow region, if you enter via Kaliningrad region, you need to self-isolate there before you can continue to mainland Russia. 

Resolution of the Chief State Sanitary Doctor of the Russian Federation of 03/30/2020 N 9.

What documents do I need when crossing the border?

An HQS, included in an approved AEB list, should carry the following documents:

- valid travel documents (passport, visa),
- negative COVID-19 test in English or Russian,
- an original / certified copy of the employment contract,
- work permit,
- a copy of the apartment rental agreement.

Related news

14.10.2020 Russia to resume flights to Serbia, Cuba and Japan
Russia resumes air links with Serbia, Cuba and Japan, said the Coronavirus Task Force. With Japan air service is resumed from November 1, for the rest of the countries the date is not specified. It was also decided to increase the number of flights and destinations in Switzerland, the Maldives, the UAE and Belarus. More
09.10.2020 To the attention of foreign HQS: Lufthansa updated schedule for October
In October 2020, the Lufthansa Group will continue to operate two flights per week: 
on Sundays and Thursdays from Frankfurt (departing at 21:50) and on Mondays and Fridays from Moscow (departing at 02:55). 

24.09.2020 Putin extended the stay of foreigners until December 15 because of coronavirus
The President of Russia Vladimir Putin has again prolonged the validity of the decree on regulation of foreigners' status during the coronavirus pandemic till December 15. More
Dear AEB Members!

In our updated HQS RE-ENTRY section you can find all available up-to-date information about re-entry procedures, necessary documents, etc.
14.07.2020 From July 15, Russia abolishes the mandatory isolation for people coming from abroad
On July 13, 2020 the Chief Sanitary Doctor of Russia Anna Popova signed the Resolution according to which the people arriving on the territory of Russia from July 15 will not need to be isolated for two weeks.  More
25.06.2020 Over 190 European top executives and family members received permission to come back to work in Russia
The Association of Europeans is pleased to announce that on June 23, 2020, the Russian Government approved the second list of European highly qualified specialists (HQS), who are now allowed to come back to Russia. More
Show all
AEB Members benefit from a quicker and easier way of applying for work visas and work permits for their foreign employees in Russia.


HQS Re-Entry Situation Centre
Anna Arsentyeva

HQS Re-Entry Situation Centre
Ksenia Solovieva

HQS Re-Entry Situation Centre
Olga Abramova

+7 (495) 234-27-64